GROWING UP… PART 2

This week post is a continuation of  the “growing up” post i did last week.  I hope you find it as interesting as the previous part.
My great dream changed when i got to secondary school. you see, i schooled on the island, Ikoyi to be precise and you know how the Island is now, lots of industries, especially banks and my school that year was close to Platinum Habib Bank (PHB) now known as Keystone Bank. You need to see the way the female bankers were always intimidating us with their dressing. My friends would be like “i think they employ people based on their looks in bank because they are all good looking” and i would smile and say, “when i grow up, i would like to work in a bank too.” In my mind, i knew it was very possible for me to be employed in a bank because i am good looking too…winks. I fell in-love with their dress sense and also their lifestyle and i said to myself that “Lily would be a banker when she grows up.”

th-2

After secondary school, I became confuse, i kept asking myself if i really want to be a banker in future and in the end, i convinced myself that if i become a banker, i would be a boring person (no disrespect to bankers but that was how i felt) and that isn’t what i want in life. I felt like the most confused person in the world. I became scared, i told myself that if at seventeen you didn’t know what you want to be in future, you would have issues career-wise.

I know that i am not the only one in this boat, i know many of us had difficulties and are still having it choosing a career, i know so many of us can relate with this post. If you’re out there and you are old enough to decide what you want to do in life but you’re like lil Lily, no hurry in life my dear, it’s better you take your time and choose wisely rather than jump on the bandwagon because in the end, all that matters is your happiness, you have to enjoy whatever you decide to do/be when you grow up. I didn’t turn out to be a Lawyer, Doctor or a Banker, I turned out to be a content editor, i write for a TV station, i am in-charge of their social media write ups and other things and i am happy with what i do.

 

 

 

 

 

PHOTO CREDIT: GOOGLE
46 thoughts on “GROWING UP… PART 2

  1. omogbolahan! says:

    Growing up, we all wanted to be so many things and then later in life we realise those things are even far from what we saw them to be, d most important thing is to be happy @ whatever we eventually do…good u love what u do!

    Like

  2. ife says:

    Yeah, I wanted to be an air hostess cos of the way those hostesses look, but am far from being a hostess right now, but as u rightly said, I gat to b happy where I am, and they r really making me happy this December *winks*. Weldone lily

    Like

  3. LIFE!……the disposal after proposal still remains a mystery…..I had dreams of aeronautics,military life but here I am today. Ended up not studying engineering…..but happiness like you said is key….

    Like

  4. arizona says:

    This piece reminds me of a discuss with friends nd we all agreed that we will be bigger than how we are now if we remain focus. I wish u same

    Like

  5. White Diamond says:

    Beautiful write up dear. 😀
    I believe most of us can relate,lol
    I actually wanted to fly planes, but my eyesight disqualified me
    I still want to join the FBI sef,maybe pathology or forensics…..hehehe
    I’m still growing na * straight face *
    Btw,the lady whose picture you used, Ngozi Ozofor,my SP and caretaker when I entered college ….*awon famzer*
    Keep it up, babe.You’re a good writer.

    Like

  6. Fadoju Oluwatomisin says:

    Happy boxing day fam i beleive we can become wateva we choose 2 be with alot of focus, determination n disciplin…. Thumbs up maami.. Keep up d good Job… God bless.. Lily what ur email address
    ..

    Like

  7. These days Nigeria universities don’t help matters. My neighbor’s son wanted to study business admin but he was left with criminology as the only option. Dude wanted an admission into unilorin so he had to accept whatever he was given.

    …………………..

    Like

    • Please tell me something I don’t know Mannie, our universities also contribute in making us take the wrong decision profession wise. They force you to study what you have little or no passion for. Thanks for your comment Mannie.

      Like

  8. Firstly what secondary school did you attend?hope it’s not holy child or aunt Ayotte. .
    Talking about career,I think I chose the best profession. I don’t see my self in science class cos I detest maths like hell,commercial class was a no for me,can’t stand the unseriousNess of those guys there,and those accounting think look like a mirage.hence my choice of Art department, another problem emerged what course will I go for?I went through Jamb syllabus,and the only course I found there was law,I heard mass comm students are lazy blabla .so I chose Law.
    Being a professional course it gives you an edge over ,many things,you get enlightened ,you are well respected and you can fit into any position. I don’t have a job now but I earn my salary through PP,had it been I studied some other course, I will still be waiting for that job.

    The long and short of my epistle is that parents,schools have great a role to play in the career path of their children.strt telling them about different profession we have at their young age,let them know what is obtainable…

    Like

  9. Firstly what secondary school did you attend?hope it’s not holy child or aunty Ayo
    Talking about career,I think I chose the best profession. I don’t see my self in science class cos I detest maths like hell,commercial class was a no for me,can’t stand the unseriousNess of those guys there,and those accounting think look like a mirage.hence my choice of Art department, another problem emerged what course will I go for?I went through Jamb syllabus,and the only course I found there was law,I heard mass comm students are lazy blabla .so I chose Law.
    Being a professional course it gives you an edge over ,many things,you get enlightened ,you are well respected and you can fit into any position. I don’t have a job now but I earn my salary through PP,had it been I studied some other course, I will still be waiting for that job.

    The long and short of my epistle is that parents,schools have great a role to play in the career path of their children.strt telling them about different profession we have at their young age,let them know what is obtainable…

    Like

  10. A thousand likes to your comment Bolateethole. I attended Aunty Ayo my dear. I concur that parents and schools have a great role to play in teir children’s career path but it must be in alignment with what the child has passion for not what they want him to do because its a professional career. Growing up, my Dad wanted me and my siblings to be medical doctors. He said after our studies, we would build a hospital together. Thank God I didn’t listen to him because I can’t stand the sight of a wound or blood. Thanks for stopping by Bolateethole.

    Like

  11. Lily Lily Lily… Wow is what I said after reading through. You know yeah, the thing about life is we never really know. We never really know where we will end up, we never really know what we will become, and we never really know what tomorrow will bring. But Bubba, in my confused eyes, i am learning that regardless of what we expect from life, we should always make the best of today, cause now, this very moment is all that we truly ever have.. Cheers Bubba, and complements of the season. 🙂

    Like

  12. Abieyuwa Odigie says:

    Nice write up dear..Often times,our dreams don’t come true and we find happiness in something else..However,we mustn’t forget that we can achieve most things by striving for it. And as youths,being ambitious is part of our make up and we should not create room for mediocrity..

    Like

  13. hmmmm…. yeah… personally…what i wanted to do was a flux… what i wanted to be on the other hand was pretty iron clad. What i have found myself doing and being now are both quite remarkable.

    Glad you love what you do…we all should…but we must more importantly be concerned of what we ARE.

    *hugs*

    Like

  14. annie says:

    Intelligent write up! U dnt knw wat u have inside, until u take d 1st step…D journey of a thousand miles begins with a step. Jst like Peak,it’s in U!

    Like

  15. Anie C. Love says:

    Interesting! I wanted to b an actress, a lawyer, a model but finally I ended up in SOCIAL WORK and modeling as a hobby… *winks* lol …. Am loving it though… NICE WRITE UP LILY!!!

    Like

  16. I also dreamt of all those beautiful lady bankers and guess what i ended up as one but childhood fantasy was a nurse and while in Uni, i wanted to be a psychiatrist/therapist……..
    Welcome on blogville and a pretty one as well!!!

    Like

Hello dear, yes you! Please leave a comment.

